Over the past few weeks, some readers have reported that they have encountered System Restore xp.

Click the files that were originally shared with everyone on this computer. Select the Advanced Options tab. At the bottom in the “System Restore and Shadow Copies” section, click the “Cleanup” buttons. Select “Delete” and click “OK”.

Click Files from everyone on this computer. Select the Advanced Options tab. Below, in regards to System Restore and Shadow Copies, simply click on the Clean Up button. Select “Delete” and click “OK”.

Topic Overview > Operating System and Desktop > Operating System Packages > Windows

This document describes how to disable System Restore in Windows XP. Windows XP uses any restore utility that automatically backs up selected files in the C:_Restore directory. A backup file may be stored there that has been infected with all viruses that a virus scan should not remove. System Restore must be disabled in order to remove corrupted files from the C:_Restore folder.

NOTE. Windows 95/98, Windows Me, Windows 2000, Windows XP but Windows Vista are no longer supported, as is Help Desk. We can only provide the best possible support. If you are unable to solve your current problem with Windows 9x/2000/XP/Vista, you can find help in Microsoft Base.

Functionally deleting a restore point is safe, but your whole family should be careful about which restore points to delete. The command line can help you collect and remove specific restore points.

These products are no longer supported by Microsoft. Individual products are no longer developed and security updates arereleased rarely or not at all. It is highly recommended to upgrade to Windows 10 or 8.

Windows 9x/2000/XP/Vista
NOT SUPPORTED

Disable System Restore

Right-click the My Computer icon on your desktop and select Properties.Click the Performance tab.Press the File System button.Click the Troubleshoot tab.Select the Disable System Restore check box.Click on OK.ClickPlease click Yes when starting a reboot.

  1. To access the Advanced Options button, click the Clean button under System Restore and Shadow Copies. When the disk cleanup confirmation window appears, click Erase and Windows 10 will erase all of your restore points, definitely keeping the last one.

    Right-click the My Computer icon on your real desktop and select Properties.

  2. remove system restore xp

    Click on the System Restore tab.

  3. remove system restore xp

    Then put a money stamp. Disable System Restore on all drives.

  4. Frequently right-click the My Computer icon on your desktop and select Properties.Click on the “Performance” tab.Click the File System button.Click on the main Troubleshooting tab.Check the box and click “Disable Restoresystem refurbishment”.click OK.Click Yes when prompted to restart your computer.

    Click OK.

  5. You will be prompted to restart your computer. Click Yes.

Note. To enable the recovery utility again, follow steps 1-5, and in the last step, uncheck the box if you want to disable “Turn on the system” to recover all drives.

A. System Restore (i.e., restorept.api) is a new feature in Windows XP, similar to “Last Known Configuration.” However, System Restore saves multiple restore points, not an extreme restore point. userThe user can create restore points immediately, or System Restore can save restore points during the following operations:

  • Install new software if the application uses the latest installer that is compatible with System Restore.
  • Use automatic update
  • During a secure restore operation
  • During a Microsoft backup or medical operation
  • Install this unsigned driver
  • Automatically adhere to 24 hours of inactivity
  • By default, System Restore tracks all domains. So, for example, if you are getting rid of an executable, you can use the System State to roll back to a specific restore point in order to restore or possibly restore the executable. Again, when users return to a restore point, they lose all changes from that point, with the exception of changes made to files in the My Documents folder and to documents created using the application.Applications such as Microsoft Word and Microsoft Excel.

    If you use System Restore with a new system location, you can undo the operation and restore your computer to the system state it was in before System Restore was created. You can also modify the System Restore feature to restore the state of the model to a different point.

    1. Launch the Control Panel applet (select Start, Settings, Control Panel, System).
    2. Select the System Restore tab.
    3. Uncheck “Disable System Restore on disks” to enable System Restore, or check this box to disable System Restore.
      Click here to view image
    4. Click OK.

    You can also click a specific setting button to set the maximum amount of disk space that each drive should use for searching information. If the drive you are using is not a system drive, you will probably disable System Restore on a per-drive basis as well. MThe maximum amount of disk space that can be used to support recovery information is 12% per disk.

    An alternative to the usual solution of enabling and disabling Windows XP System Restore is registry integration. To use an alternative, do the following:

    1. Start the PC editor (regedit.exe).
    2. Navigate to

    3. HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINESOFTWAREMicrosoftWindows NTCurrentVersionSystemRestore.
    4. If there is no DisableSR value, go to the Edit menu, enter a new DWORD value, and create the current value.
    5. Set true to 1 to disable System Restore, or 0 to enable it.
    6. Go to HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINESYSTEMCurrentControlSetServicessr to prevent the System Restore service from starting.
    7. While System Restore can change almost all of your system files, updates, and Windows programs, it won’t delete or change any of your personal files, such as your photos, documents, music, segments, emails, stored on your hard drive.

      Click the Advanced Options tab you see and click the Clean button under System Restore and Shadow Copies. When the Disk Cleanup confirmation window appears, click Erase and Windows 10 will remove all your recovery products while keeping the most recent one.